yeah, yeah, average computer science major first post. still, gotta start a blog somehow. corny as it is.

I was thinking about going back and editing my website again, and I didn't realize that it had been... three... months... since I last did anything with it. I didn't intend for that to happen of course. but sometimes it be like that. mainly, I am just the guy with thirty projects going on at the same time and I doggedly refuse to focus on any one of them for an extended period of time. I have the attention span the size of a peanut. I am constantly chasing the next shiny thing I can hyperfixate on for 8 hours straight until I burn my energy out and forget about a thing for a few months.

I'm joining a 100 days challenge with a local creative group though. body doubling is something that has worked for me in the past, so I am hoping through joining a "work on a project every day" challenge with a group of people, where we all are posting weekly updates, will be the push I need to keep chipping away at my website. we are starting this upcoming weekend!

something else I struggle with is the need to put out something perfect immediately... I get hung up on visualzing something in my head (not just for my site, but a lot of creative projects in general) and I want so badly to just project the image directly from my mind and skip the awkward in between steps. but of course that's not a thing. my site is a work in progress, eternally, and I don't think there's a single site on neocities that is 100% done. it's hard, but I'm trying to get into the mindset of "it's ok to write html/css that is jank becasuse at least then you wrote it." I can clean up and polish bad html, but I can't clean up html that hasn't been written.

leaving this as a short-ish entry for now because it's late at night and I need to sleep. I was going to explode if I didn't add anything to my website since I was thinking about it so much today... maybe tomorrow I will sit down and write out a more concrete roadmap for the order of the pages I want to work on... finding that perfect balance between "things I am passionate about working on" and "things I can reasonably complete while I am still interested in them" is something I'm still trying to find.