one hundred years of solitude: gabriel garcía márquez

september 2024's bookbug pick. peak fiction. the entire breadth of human emotion is in these ~400 pages, blended masterfully with the supernatural that has become natural. honestly I wrote a lot on my bookbug page so read my review here

the stranger beside me: ann rule

a book that's been on my radar for a while since horror brushes shoulders with the true crime genre every now and then. finally got around to reading it, was floored by some of the details of the case I wasn't familiar with (namely, how long ted bundy was able to postpone his execution). certainly a unique perspective on bundy, and the additions I had in my copy of the book from rule updating every handful of years were appreciated.

the grip of it: jac jemc

jemc's writing is concise and crisp; chapters pass in the span of a breath. things get more and more progressively unhinged. in some respects it felt like a trimmed down house of leaves and I say that positively. the ending was unsatisfying and not in a "I'm gonna be pondering this for the next few days" way.

20th century ghosts: joe hill

as with most anthologies, there were some good stories and some bad to mediocre ones. there were a handful that weren't even horror adjacent. "deadwood" stuck with me for some reason, despite only being a page long. something about it was fantastically evocative.

pnin: vladimir nabokov

august's bookbug pick. a short and charming little novel. the titular pnin often finds himself in unfortunate situations, but his quirks make him someone I have to root for. read my initial review here

it: stephen king

I'm so torn on this book. like there were really high highs and also really low lows. I think the length (1168 pages) is to its detriment. there were parts that could have been trimmed. beverly deserved so, So much better. I think the concept of It as this cosmic evil is really cool but the book didn't focus as much on it as I would have liked. also I feel like the scene in the sewers that happens 90% of the way in the book with the kids was incredibly offputting and if I wasn't almost finished with the book at that point I probably would have dropped it. take that how you will.

the hundred secret senses: amy tan

picked this up as a "blind date with a book" package I saw at a local fair. thought the supernatural elements were interesting and I liked the interweaving of the two stories being told but I thought the ending was a letdown.

to the lighthouse: virginia woolf

read for july's bookbug pick. not my favorite of the books so far for that group, although as time goes on and I'm meditating on it more I like it more. read my initial review here

strangers on a train: patricia highsmith

read for june's bookbug pick. overall I enjoyed this book as a fun, quick thriller. read my review here

azarinth healer: book one: rhaegar

read for geega's community book club. I thought it was Just Ok. finding out that it was a serialized web novel make sense because uh. there sure didn't seem to be any overarching plot. still the rpg setting was easy and entertaining to read about.

the master and margarita: mikhail bulgakov

read for may's bookbug pick. a little confusing, but super interesting in the latter half. read my review here

a collapse of horses: brian evenson

a horror anthology where the stories stop just short of giving the full picture. very evocative imagery. I liked "the dust" for being the most fleshed out, and "any corpse" for being unexpectedly funny.

the doctor who fooled the world: brian deer

a nonfiction book about the fraud study that led to mass paranoia about vaccines, and the doctor who pushed it through. interesting stuff, but somewhat dense at times

the ruins: scott smith

a horror novel about a vacation in mexico gone horribly wrong after the tourists venture nto the jungle. I thought it was miserable but in a fun way LOL. more sad than scary imo. and sometimes I am in the mood for media that will suck the soul out of me

the hunger: alma katsu

a horror novel that is a fictionalized retelling of the donner party's unfortunate end. I think I expected this book to be more gruesome and it ends up being more sad and contemplative than gory. I'm also not a huge fan of historical fiction so I think even being interested in the topic it just didn't hit.